A Caesarean section is a surgical procedure in which one or more incisions are made through a mother's abdomen (laparotomy) and uterus (hysterotomy) to deliver one or more babies, or, rarely, to remove a dead fetus. Doctors usually recommend C-section is cases where the baby cannot be delivered through a normal vaginal delivery. This can happen in cases when the woman has twins (or triplets etc), a breach delivery is expected (baby is descending legs first instead of the head), the baby is large, there is some problem associated with the uterus or a placenta previa is detected (the placenta is low and covers the cervix). Sometimes, during normal labour, the doctor might make the decision to proceed with a caesarean section too. Caesareans are of two types: the preferred lower-segment caesarean section or LSCS and the older less commonly used classical section. In an LSCS, the cut on the uterus is placed at its lower end and such a cut has many advantages both during the surgery and for post-operative recovery. On the other hand, when this area of the uterus is not accessible for some reason, the doctor may still opt for a classical section where the cut is placed on the upper part of the uterus. The C-section is performed under the effect of an epidural or spinal anaesthesia so that you are numb from the waist down. A horizontal skin incision is made just above your ‘bikini line’ and the abdominal muscles are separated. Usually, a horizontal incision is made in the lower part of the uterus though there may be cases when a vertical incision may be required. The baby is then delivered out of your uterus and the cord is cut. The uterine incision is closed with sutures (stitches) of resorbable material. The skin sutures will have to be removed after three to seven days. Antibiotics may be administered during the procedure through an IV line.


Health Calculator

Photo Gallery

Don’t Miss Out on the Latest Updates.
Subscribe to Our Newsletter Today!

thehealthsite subscribe now