Sign In
  • ENG

Different Types Of Breast Cancer That You Need To Be Aware Of

Early detection is the key to cure.

Most breast cancers are invasive, meaning they have the tendency to spread from the breast to other areas. Read on to know the details

Written by Editorial Team |Updated : October 26, 2021 11:50 AM IST

Breast cancer initiates in the glands present in the breast. It is the most common cancers among women in the world and claims many lives every year. There are many types of breast cancer that can steal your peace of mind. Most breast cancers are invasive, meaning they have the tendency to spread from the breast to other areas, like nearby breast tissue, lymph nodes, or other body parts. Here, Dr Tanveer Abdul Majeed, a Surgical Oncologist, Zen Multispecialty Hospital, Chembur, explains about different types of breast cancer that we need to be aware of.

Invasive breast cancer

Breast Cancer is classified as invasive and non-invasive. Invasive types of breast cancer are:

  • Invasive ductal carcinoma (IDC): This is one of the most common types of breast cancer seen in most female patients. This type of cancer begins in a milk duct (the tubes in the breast that carry milk to the nipple) and tends to grow to the other parts of the breast. With time, it may spread further, or metastasize, to other body organs.
  • Invasive lobular carcinoma (ILC): This is also a common type of cancer and begins in the lobules (where breast milk is made) and then spreads into the nearby breast tissue and can metastasize. It is more difficult to detect this cancer on mammograms and other exams than IDC.
  • Inflammatory breast cancer: It can be seen in the ducts or lobules and tends to spread faster than other types of breast cancer. This type of breast cancer is aggressive and is known as inflammatory owing to the redness and swelling on the surface of the breast. Women often confuse it with a breast infection and neglect it. This type of cancer causes higher mortality and morbidity rates.
  • Paget's disease of the breast: It is a not so common type of cancer and tends to develop in the skin of the nipple and the areola, causing tumour cells known as Paget cells.
  • Angiosarcoma of the breast: It is a rare, aggressive tumour seen in older women, and occurs in the lining of lymph or blood vessels. It grows quickly and often isn't diagnosed until it's already spread to other areas of the body.
  • Triple negative breast cancer: It is a type of invasive breast cancer that is seen in premenopausal women and is very responsive to chemotherapy.

Non-invasive breast cancer

Non-invasive breast cancer (in situ) does not spread to surrounding tissue, lobules, or ducts. Below are the types of non-invasive breast cancer

Also Read

More News

  • Ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS): It is first seen as a mass that grows in a milk duct carrying milk from the lobules, or glands, to the nipple. Slowly, the mass becomes bigger and breaks through the ductal walls into the surrounding tissue and fat of the breast.
  • Lobular carcinoma in situ (LCIS): It is not technically considered a cancer, but rather a change in the breast. Also, it typically does not spread beyond the lobule. But LCIS can further raise the risk of invasive breast cancer.

Metastatic breast cancer (MBC)

It's stage 4 advanced breast cancer that has spread to other part parts of the body like the liver, lungs, brain, or bones, as well as to lymph nodes. It is life-threatening.

With development in the field of molecular oncology and introduction of newer treatment modalities the survival rate of breast cancer patients has significantly improved. But remember early detection is the key to cure. So, breast self-examination and early referral to clinician is very important.

Total Wellness is now just a click away.

Follow us on